Our Lineage

Our center is in the Drikung Kagyu lineage of Tibetan Buddhism. You can read about
our lineage at drikungdharmakirti.com/lineage/kagyu-lineage.

The Kagyu lineage is one of four principal Tibetan Buddhist lineages that coalesced
around great teachers from the 7th to 14th centuries C.E. These lineages are all branches of the same tree, rooted in the same ground. You can read a short history of
the four principal Tibetan lineages here.

The founder of Drikung Kagyu
Lord Jigten Sumgon

From left: His Holiness Drikung Kyabgon Chetsang Rinpoche,
His Holiness Dalai Lama, Most Venerable Drubwang Rinpoche,
Most Venerable Khenchen Konchok Gyaltsen Rinpoche.

Kagyu Masters Mahasiddha Tilopa, Mahasiddha Naropa, & Milarepa